STATE OF TEXAS §

COUNTY OF SCHLEICHER §

ORDER RESTRICTING OUTDOOR BURNING

WHEREAS, the Texas Forest Service, and or Schleicher County Fire Chief has determined
that drought conditions exist within the county;

WHEREAS, the Commissioners Court finds that circumstances present in all or part of the

unincorporated area of the county create a public safety hazard that would be exacerbated by outdoor
burning;

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED by the Commissioners Court of Schleicher County that all
outdoor burning is prohibited in the unincorporated area of the county for 90 days from the date of
adoption of this Order, unless the restrictions are terminated earlier based on a determination made
by the Texas Forest Service or this Court. This Order is adopted pursuant to Local Government
Code 352.081, and other applicable statutes. This Order does not prohibit outdoor burning activities
related to public health and safety that are authorized by the Texas Commission on Environmental
Quality for: (1) firefighter training; (2) public utility, natural gas pipeline or mining operation; (3)
planting or harvesting of agricultural crops; or, (4) burns that are conducted by Edwards Plateau
Prescribe Burning Association, National Resource Conservation Service and/or the Texas A&M
Agricultural Experiment Station, or a prescribed burn manager certified under Section 153.048.
Natural Resources Code, and meet the standards of Section 153.047, Natural Resources Code.

[T IS ALSO HEREBY ORDERED AS TO Section 352.081 (e)(2) the Fire Chief and County
Judge are hereby designated as the officers authorized to determine whether circumstances no longer
exist to prohibit outdoor burning, and the two together may rescind this Order at such time.

All burns shall be reported prior to commencing said burns to the Schleicher County Sheriff’s
Office, (325) 853-2737, together with the name of the landowner, location involved and expert to be
on hand.

All burns shall also be reported prior to commencing to the Schleicher County Fire Chief and

the Schleicher County Sheriff’s office upon completion, the Schleicher County Sheriff’s office and
Schleicher County Fire Chief shall be notified.

In accordance with Local Government Code 352.081(h), a violation of this Order is a Class C
misdemeanor, punishable by a fine not to exceed $500.00.

ADOPTED this the 26" day of June, 2023 by vote of (_( ) ayes and

Pasgeee®

5 . _ _ i \“““ﬂﬂmmﬂlﬂlfyk””
A Sl
Charlie Bradley ' '-.,‘/c%/‘—:-_;_:
Schleicher County Judge g‘!%
H

w
&)
.’.. ..-' &§
)} ...."‘”%* \\\\\\\

i T aw
"”’a.r.rmE")E.E:ll“‘“



